I didn’t mean to do it! But I’m glad I did.

Today is going to be complicated to explain, so I’ll try to keep it simple. I used a combination of:

  • manufacturer’s coupons
  • store coupons
  • in-store sales
  • in-store coupons on the products
  • clearance items
  • price matching
  • competitor’s coupons

Total before coupons and savings = $165.71, total after coupons and savings = $28.52

I bought:

  • 10 bags of cat food
  • 13 pounds of produce – mushrooms, carrots, lettuce, cole slaw, apples, cucumber, spinach, celery
  • 3 pounds of deli sliced (all name brand) meat – turkey and ham
  • 8 boxes of whole grain pasta
  • 2 dozen brown eggs
  • 3 pounds of hamburger
  • 1.5 pounds of pork loin chops
  • 4 pints of half-and-half
  • 1 gallon whole milk
  • 2 boxes of name brand whole wheat crackers
  • the penny item from Publix – 32 oz oatmeal
  • cranberry relish
  • 4 cups of greek yogurt

It was a combination of preparation and opportunity. I keep a coupon organizer in my tote bag that has my most commonly used coupons such as the ones for deli meat, dairy items, and cat food. That way, when I see a sale plus a store promotion, I’m ready.

I keep a coupon organizer with my most common items with me at all times. It’s a good idea to check the store for in-store markdowns and clearances, that way you can apply your coupons to the lowest possible price. Here’s how it happened:

  • Cat food – raincheck plus manufacturer’s coupons
  • Produce – in-store sales, in-store markdowns, manufacturer’s coupons, competitor’s coupons
  • Deli meat – in-store sales, in-store markdowns, manufacturer’s coupons
  • Pasta – in-store sales, manufacturer’s coupons
  • Eggs – in-store sales, price matching
  • Hamburger – in-store markdowns, store coupons
  • Pork chops – in-store markdowns, store coupons
  • Half-and-half – in-store sales, competitor’s coupons, manufacturer’s coupons
  • Whole milk – in-store sale, store coupon, manufacturer’s coupon
  • Crackers – in-store clearance, manufacturer’s coupons
  • Oatmeal – penny item in-store promotion
  • Cranberry relish – no discount whatsoever, the only full-price item, but it was worth it!
  • Yogurt – in-store sale, manufacturer coupons

Several items were better than free (price after discounts greater than the sale price), and the overage applied to the other items. It’s not simple, it takes organization and time, but it’s worth the effort. In addition, I walked through the store and made notes on what products they were out of, and got rainchecks on those, that way I can hold the rainchecks and wait for the right manufacturer’s coupons to get those at the lowest possible price. Again, planning and time, but worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

