Best deals this week – Publix and Rite-Aid

The current ad for Publix will run through March 30th, and they will be closed on Easter Sunday. This is what is on my list:

  • Gorton’s Shrimp – frozen Shrimp Scampi, usually too expensive for a meal at $7.99 each, is now Buy One Get One Free and I have a manufacturer’s coupon for $1 off of two. Makes it much easier to buy at $7.00 for two of them, and it’s a real treat. In order to make a meal of it, I make spaghetti with alfredo sauce and have a side salad, and fix the shrimp and sauce to put on top of the spaghetti. Great easy meal.
  • Pam cooking spray – buy one get one free, and I have a coupon for 30 cents off that will double
  • Celery – buy one get one free 
  • Mt. Olive pickles and peppers – I have manufacturer’s coupons that are for 55 cents off and they say “do not double” on them, so normally I would use them only at Bi-Lo if they would double, but since they won’t, I’ll use them at Publix for the Buy One Get One Free
  • Hellmann’s Mayonnaise – it’s Buy One Get One Free, plus I have manufacturer’s coupons AND Publix store coupons and you can use both!
  • Kellogg’s Special K and Apple Jacks cereal – I usually cook breakfast, but if I’m not around or we are in a hurry, everyone likes cereal. And it keeps a long time. These are on sale plus I have coupons.
  • Mueller’s Pasta – buy one get one free plus I have a coupon for $1 off of two packages – that means I get two packages for a total of 45 cents!
  • Ragu Pasta Sauce – buy one get one free, plus I have both store and manufacturer’s coupons which means I’ll get two bottles for 49 cents! I usually make my own pasta sauce but these keep forever, they are quick and easy to use, and everyone likes them.
  • Dole Pineapple cans in 100% juice – Buy One Get One Free plus I have manufacturer’s coupons for 50 cents off of two which will double.
  • Duncan Hines brownie and cake mixes
  • Simply Potatoes mashed potatoes, also with Publix coupons
  • Nabisco Ritz crackers
  • Keebler Town House or Club crackers – buy one get one free, plus I have coupons for $1 off of two boxes, plus I have a coupon for a carton of free eggs with the purchase of two boxes

There’s also a few great deals at Rite-Aid. I usually only consider the deals where I get money back on the transaction in the form of “plus UPs”, that you can use on your next transaction. They expire after two weeks, and tragically, while I was in the middle of the family crisis, I had lots of mine expire. Right now, I have $5 saved on my Rite-Aid card in the form of Plus UPs that I can use on the first transaction. The goal is to keep using the Plus UPs to buy an item that also gets a Plus UP in return so you can use THAT reward to buy your next item, and so on. Here’s what I’ll do:

  1. Buy 4 cans of Campbell’s soup for $5, using a manufacturer’s coupon for $1 off of 4 cans, pay for it with the $5 plus UPs I have already, and get an additional $2 back in the Plus UPs bonus on the cans. That means I pay nothing and have 4 cans of soup and $3 to spend on the next transaction.
  2. Buy Arm and Hammer toothbrushes and toothpaste – I have coupons for these too. Total cost will be about $10, I have $2 in coupons, I will spend $5 of my own money and the $3 I have in Plus UPs and will get $5 back in additional Plus UPs.
  3. Friskies and Fancy Feast cat food – 10 cans for $6, plus I have $2 in coupons for these, also a Scunci (hair bands) 18 pack for $1.99. I will spend $0.99 of my own money, use the $5 in Plus UPs, and get back $3.99 in additional Plus UPs.
  4. Start over with the Campbell’s soup for 4 cans for $5, minus the $1 off coupon, pay for it with the $3.99 in Plus UPs, spend $0.01 of my own money, and get back $2 in Plus UPs.

At this point, I have spent $6 of my own money and I have 8 cans of soup, a package of hair bands, toothpaste and toothbrushes, and cat food. This technique is called “rolling”. The idea is that you start with coupons and chase the items that offer rewards money in return, then keep “rolling” the rewards, with coupons, into the next and the next and the next item while the sale is ongoing. Of course, there are limits on the items. Rite-Aid will allow the soup deal 3 times, and the hair bands, Arm & Hammer products, and cat food deals twice each. I’ll just keep it rolling each day until the sale is over. The Plus UPs limitation is that it can be used starting the NEXT day after you get it. With six days left of the sale, starting today, I might make six deals, but more likely I’ll have to stop around four or five because I’m not always out and about every day. No matter where I stop, I’ll end up with Plus UPs remaining that I can start over again the next sale that comes along.

Leave a Reply

